If You Have To Cry, Go Outside

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that I love fashion – the shopping, reading fashion magazines, writing about it, reading about it and now, watching “Kell On Earth” on the Bravo network. The docu-style reality series follows Kelly Cutrone, PR maven and international fashion show producer, as she generally kicks butt and takes names. She herself isn’t glamorous in the traditional stick-thin-model kind of way, but she embodies a seemingly superhuman work ethic.

As much as I love the fashion undercurrent of the show, I’m fascinated as much by Kelly’s way of doing business and generally being. She has a hard edge, pushing the underlings who work at her agency, Peoples Revolution, to near nervous breakdowns multiple times per episode (reality or clever editing? I suspect she really is as harsh as she sounds).

The first episode of the series shows Cutrone in a pre-NY Fashion Week staff meeting presenting her unique brand of a pep talk. My favorite quote from said meeting is, “If you have to cry, go outside.”

I love it because it’s such good advice. We all sometimes get caught up in the emotion of a project, snared by a toxic colleague or feel misunderstood by a boss – but at the end of the day, it’s not personal, it’s business, and tears have no place inside the workplace. Not that you shouldn’t have emotions (we’re all human, afterall), but if you have to cry, go outside.

Kelly would be a terrifying boss to work for, but I bet those who have worked for her have emerged better employees and phenomenal at their jobs. I know that I’m hooked on “Kell on Earth” and may rush out and buy her new book “If You Have To Cry, Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You” (available on Amazon.com).

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “If You Have To Cry, Go Outside”

  1. Allison Says:

    Jenn – this is such a cute blog! I love it!

    I’ll admit – I saw this entry and laughed out loud. 🙂 I do not miss public relations at all. I miss it like I miss a hangover!

    Keep blogging – I love your entries!

Leave a Reply

