Best You

This whole “being the bride” thing has a tendency to make me a little neurotic about looking the best I’ve ever looked for my wedding day. Fortunately, I’ve got a little over eight months and, as it happens, I’m a total beauty / health / product / magazine  junkie, so I’ve compiled a few of my favorite tips. Enjoy!

1. Take probiotics – they help restore healthy bacteria to your digestive tract, helping to promote regularity and cut down on bloating. I like the Pearls brand, but it’s also great to eat yogurt and cottage cheese that have added acidophilious. Another great help: digestive enzymes.

2. Brush Up – I first heard about “dry brushing” as a cleansing technique. Basically, you get a natural bristle brush (like the kind you’d use to scrub your back) and briskly brush your body – bottoms of feet, legs, arms, etc… – toward your heart. You can focus on areas where you’d like to see some cellulite (not that you have any!) reduction – brushing in a circular motion on thighs and such. Brushing increases circulation, and your skin should be pink when you finish. It’s best to do this right before you shower and hop into a steamy one. Skin is the largest organ in our bodies and responsible for toxin elimination – brushing helps move things along.

3. Take Biotin – a friend told me this trick (thanks, JW!), and you can pick up a bottle from any drugstore. Biotin is a B vitamin that is purported to make your hair and nails grow stronger & faster. Bonus: it also helps you burn through carbohydrates faster. Score!

4. Satiny Smooth. Sleep on a satin pillowcase: I know it sounds a little antiquated, but I can actually tell a difference. As much as I love crisp cotton sheets on the bed, I always make a point to try to sleep on a satin pillowcase. It pulls at your hair & skin less (causing less creases / wrinkles in the skin and less pulling / split ends on your hair).

5. Oil Slick: Ever since I got the best ring EVER (perhaps I’m a little biased? Need to post engagement photos soon!), it’s made me much more conscious about my nails. To keep them looking passable, even without a fresh manicure, I keep my cuticles moisturized with cuticle oil. I keep some at my desk and apply it absent-mindedly while checking voicemail each morning.

6. Hydrate: we all hear how important it is to drink eight 8 ounce glasses of water per day, that it’s good for digestion and general health. But I read something recently that was new information to me: if you’re dehydrated, it can leave your muscles looking less defined than they would if you were drinking enough H2O (no matter how much you’re working out). It makes sense – your muscles hold on to water when you’re not giving them enough, making them look puffy since the cells are holding onto those fluids. So, drink up!

7. Be Dirty – minimize how much your washing and heat styling your hair. Invest in some good dry shampoo (such as Lulu Organics, which comes in pleasant scents like Tuberose and Jasmine), which will extend your blow-out ‘do. You’ll see fewer split ends and spend less time styling – so many ways I’d rather spend my time (I’m a girly girl, but I kind of hate actually getting ready)!

I know there are tons more – feel free to add your favorites in the comments section. Here’s to a beautiful 2010!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Best You”

  1. Sara Says:

    I’ve heard coconut oil is good for conditioning hair ends. I love the Burt’s Bees lemon cuticle rub in a tin and I’ve heard that keeping nails filed a bit on the ends prevents breakage.

Leave a Reply

