Sketchy

I was reading somewhere that Giorgio Armani gave Katie Holmes a sketch of her wedding gown, and that got me thinking: what a neat thing to have in a small size that you can frame! A few years ago, I guest performed in Ballroom Magic with the University of Georgia’s Ballroom Performance Group and I designed (I say this very loosely and humbly – much as I’d love to be, I’m NOT a fashion designer) a salsa costume. My friend Fritz, who is a budding designer, kindly drew me a gorgeous colored pencil sketch of the finished product. I love it and still have it today! In fact, I think I may reach out to him and see if he’ll do one of my wedding dress (which should arrive this week… CANNOT WAIT!).

If you’re a bride and this idea appeals to you – because, let’s face it: the wedding dress is likely the most expensive garment you’ll ever buy and you’ll probably keep it closeted away and preserved post-wedding – here are some ways to make it happen:

With artist Jennifer Angilello (www.aboutthedress.com) $425 will get you a personalized, hand-drawn sketch in an 8×10, matted and framed. You send her eight to ten photos of you in the dress and in six weeks or so you get back something cool like…

OR

If $425 sounds a bit steep (after paying for a wedding!), Penelope Altman, who lives in the South of France will create a sketch from photos for just $100. The finished product isn’t matted or framed, but those may be details you’d prefer to decide for yourself. Isn’t her work lovely?

If you’re one of those who loves the phrase “Free Gift With Purchase,” Lazaro Perez (if you buy a dress at one of the trunk shows where he appears) will sketch something on-site gratis (jlmcouture.com for dates).

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

